England Announce 17-Member Squad For First Two Tests

2 Mins read

The England Cricket Board (ECB) has announced its squad for the first two Test matches against India. England and India will clash in a blockbuster series from the 4th of August at the Trent Bridge in Nottingham. Hence, the hosts have named a 17-member squad for the same. It would be England’s second Test rubber of the summer. Joe Root hoping to prevent a second consecutive series loss at home.

Ollie Robinson has returned to the squad after his Twitter scandal kept him out of the second Test against New Zealand in Edgbaston. The right-arm seamer impressed in his maiden outing against the Kiwis at the Lord’s, taking seven wickets in the match. He also scored a valuable 42 runs in the first innings. After being rested against New Zealand in the two-Test series. Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler, Sam Curran have also been included in the 17-member squad. The selectors have given Jonny Bairstow yet another opportunity to revive his Test career.

England Cricket Team
England Cricket Team |Twitter

Spin-bowling all-rounder Moeen Ali has surprisingly missed out. Opener Haseeb Hammed, part of the County Select XI against India at the warm-up game in Durham, has made the cut. With Dom Sibley struggling at the top of the order, the youngster could get a chance at some stage of the series. Hameed enjoyed a memorable Test debut back in 2016 against India. He made scores of 31 and 82 in Rajkot. He averages a healthy 43.80 in three Tests, scoring 219 runs.

India are currently playing a practice match against the County Select XI in Durham. KL Rahul’s century and Ravindra Jadeja’s fifty rescued them from a precarious position. Nevertheless, they have a few injury concerns. Captain Virat Kohli and vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane. Kohli and Rahane did not feature in the three-day practice game against the County Select XI in Durham as the former had a stiff back and the latter had a swollen hamstring.

Indian Cricket Team
Indian Cricket Team |Twitter

The remaining four Tests would be hosted by Lord’s, Leeds, The Oval, Manchester

India would be keen to end their English sojourn on a high after losing the ICC World Test Championship final against New Zealand in Southampton by eight wickets. The tourists should fancy winning their first Test series in England since 2007 as the home side has been fragile across departments, losing to New Zealand comprehensively in June.

Below is England 17-man squad for the first two Tests to face India:

Joe Root (c), James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Dom Bess, Stuart Broad, Rory Burns, Jos Buttler, Zak Crawley, Sam Curran, Haseeb Hameed, Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach, Ollie Pope, Ollie Robinson, Dom Sibley, Ben Stokes, Mark Wood.

Related posts

Deepak Chahar Reveals Watching MS Dhoni Helped Him

1 Mins read
Deepak Chahar helped India clinch victory from Sri Lanka’s jaws after dark clouds were looming over India’s fate. Lankan bowlers were gaining…

Hardik Pandya- The Bowler- Doesn’t Look In Form: Chopra

1 Mins read
Hardik Pandya seems to have lost a little track of his bowling skills after he got his back surgery done. After getting…

Sri Lanka fined for slow over-rate in second ODI against India

1 Mins read
Ranjan Madugalle of the Emirates ICC Elite Panel of Match Referees imposed the sanction after Sri Lanka was ruled to be one over…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Deepak Chahar: This Kind Of Innings I’ve Been Dreaming Of