ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League – Everything You Need To Know About It

2 Mins read
  • Netherlands will join the Twelve Full Member Nations for the Tournament

England will host Ireland for three ODIs starting from July 30. This will mark the beginning of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League. Here, we explain to you what it is, and how it will lead to the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023.

What is the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League ?

The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League is a brand new 50-over competition. This tournament will take place for a span of two years and raise the significance of the bilateral ODI series played between the teams. In its first season, the Super League will decide which teams get the opportunity to compete in the ICC Men’s World Cup 2023, which will be played in India.

How many Teams will Play in the Super League?

A total of Thirteen (13) teams will take part in the competition. These are the Twelve Full Member Nations of the ICC and the Netherlands as the thirteenth team. The Dutch side achieved their position by triumphing in the ICC World Cricket League Championship back in 2017 where they won ten out of fourteen matches. This was a big leap for Netherlands Cricket, who lost their ODI status in 2014.

Netherlands Win ICC World Cricket League Championship | ICC

The Thirteen Competing Nations ( In order of ICC ODI Rankings as of July 1, 2020 ) :

  1. England
  2. India
  3. New Zealand
  4. South Africa
  5. Australia
  6. Pakistan
  7. Bangladesh
  8. Sri Lanka
  9. West Indies
  10. Afghanistan
  11. Ireland
  12. Netherlands
  13. Zimbabwe

Why is the Super League Important for the World Cup?

The tournament is crucial for the teams on the road to the World Cup. The fate of the nations will be decided on the basis of their standings in the Super League Points Table. The top seven sides along with the hosts India, will directly qualify for the World Cup.

The bottom five will go through a qualifying round, competing with the best teams from the lower leagues. The top 2 will join the rest eight teams in the main tournament. The setup is just like a step pyramid structure. The ICC World Cup is at the top, followed by the Super League. The CWC League 2 and CWC Challenge League come after.

Road To ICC CWC 2023 India | ICC

How does the Super League Work?

Each competing team, will play three ODIs against Eight other teams. Four of these will be as a home series, will the remaining half will be played overseas. As a result, the bottom three teams will get to play more against the top seeded teams, and improve their levels.

But, not every team will get to play everyone. They will only play against eight from the twelve other teams. In such a context, the Super League is very much like the World Test Championship.

How will the Points be Awarded?

The Points will be Awarded as such:

  • 10 points for a Win
  • 05 points for a Tie / No Result / Abandoned Match
  • 00 Points for a Loss
2015 World Cup Winners Australia | AFP

Will there be any Changes in the Playing Conditions?

The International Cricket Council has announced that the front-foot no-ball will be checked by the Third Umpire. Furthermore, the teams can also have their Points Deducted for maintaining a Slow Over Rate.

Will All the ODIs Count Towards the Super League?

All ODIs will not come under the Tournament. The teams will continue to play Bilateral ODI Series besides the Tournament. In some cases, there may be a four or five match series, but only pre-decided Three of them will account for the Super League points.

When will the Tournament End?

The Super League was earlier scheduled to conclude on 31 March 2022 having commenced from 1 May 2020. However, due to the global pandemic outbreak, it did not happen. While some series like the Netherlands vs Pakistan had to be postponed indefinitely, some fixtures are still under discussion.

2011 World Cup Winners India | Reuters

About author
    Related posts

    ICC Men's T20 World Cup 2021, Day 8 : Pakistan's big victory over India after Sri Lanka's triumph over Bangladesh

    4 Mins read
    On Day 8 of the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2021, we had two heavy-weight all-Asian clashes. It started off with the…

    T20 World Cup 2021: Match 15, SL vs BAN – Who Said What

    2 Mins read
    The 15th match of the T20 World Cup 2021 took place between the two teams that just qualified for the Super 12 stage as…

    T20 World Cup 2021: Match 14, ENG vs WI – Who Said What

    3 Mins read
    England romped home to a net-run-rate boosting six-wicket win against their T20 World Cup 2021 nemesis West Indies in Dubai on October 23…

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *