NewsWomen's Cricket

Mithali Raj delighted to be part of Women’s T20 Challenge

1 Mins read
  • Players are gearing up for the Women's T20 Challenge.

Mithali Raj, former Indian captain, is delighted to be a part of the Women’s T20 Challenge. The mini tournament starts on the 4th of November.Raj will captain the Velocity team. She talked about the major points to focus on. As a senior member, she has asked all youngsters to be as fit as possible for the event.

Mithali stated, that she understands that everyone’s practice has been restricted over the last 7 months. For the same reason, she needs everyone to get their basics right. Work on them for the first couple of days.

She also pointed out the importance of staying hydrated throughout the training sessions. A veteran having played 200+ ODIs, she felt good to be back and is looking forward to the encounters.

Players shouldn’t try too hard, says Raj

In a video posted on the official Twitter handle of IPL, Mithali Raj said “We are not here to judge anybody, all of us are coming from the quarantine period, just get your basics, for the first two days work on your basics, once the flow comes and then ease into it. Hydrate yourselves well, even if you train for twenty minutes, intensity should be there, don’t try to push too hard.”

“It was a fun session, I was not expecting to time the ball as I did, it feels good to be back, all girls are very excited, everyone is looking in touch, really looking forward to November 4th”, she added.

The Velocity will take on Harmanpreet Kaur’s Supernovas in the tournament opener. All the matches including the final are scheduled to take place in Sharjah.

The squads for all three teams are as follows:
Trailblazers– Smriti Mandhana (c), Deepti Sharma, Punam Raut, Richa Ghosh, D Hemlatha, Nuzhat Parween, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Harleen Deol, Jhulan Goswami, Simran Dil Bahadur, Salma Khatun, Sophie Ecclestone, Natthakan Chantham, Deandra Dottin, Kashvee Gautam.

Velocity– Mithali Raj(c), Shafali Verma, Veda Krishnamurthy, Sushma Verma, Ekta Bisht, Mansi Joshi, Shikha Pandey, Devika Vaidya, Sushree Dibyadarshini, Manali Dakshini, Leigh Kasperek, Danielle Wyatt, Sune Luus, Jahanara Alam, M Anagha.

Supernovas– Harmanpreet Kaur (c), Jemimah Rodrigues, Chamari Atapattu, Priya Punia, Anuja Patil, Radha Yadav, Taniya Bhatia, Shashikala Sriwardene, Poonam Yadav, Shakera Selman, Arundhati Reddy, Pooja Vastrakar, Ayushi Soni, Ayabonga Khaka, Muskan Malik.

Related posts

Arzan Nagwaswalla: ‘I have never met Virat Kohli’

1 Mins read
On Friday, May 7, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) announced the Indian squad for the upcoming final of…

Hardik Pandya may not be seen in Test cricket: Chopra

1 Mins read
On May 7, BCCI announced India’s squad that will face New Zealand in the World Test Championship finale and later play the five-match Test…

Who Is Arzan Nagwaswalla, The 23-Year Old Included In India’s Standby Squad For WTC Final?

3 Mins read
India is all set to face New Zealand in the ICC World Test Championship final. The Board of Control for Cricket in India [BCCI]…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *