St. Kitts & Nevis Patriots Win Maiden CPL Title

2 Mins read

The Patriots from the St Kitts & Nevis registered their first ever Hero CPL Title on Wednesday in a close encounter. Under the leadership of their new Skipper, Dwayne DJ Bravo, the Patriots lay their hands on silverware for the first time. A final ball thriller made the final all the more exciting with the Patriots, in the St Kitts & Nevis capital of Basseterre, coming on top by 3 wickets. The St. Lucia Kings, earlier known as St. Lucia Zouks, side thus crashed out of consecutive finals although playing good cricket.

The Patriots had a wonderful run in the first half of the tournament, winning all five of their games. However, they landed in a losing streak after that, suffering a hattrick of losses. With a couple of matches to go against the former Champions, Trinbago Knight Riders, St. Lucia were thus in a spot of bother. But they went on to win one and lose the other as both the sides reached the semi finals.

Trinbago were top of the table, followed by Guyana Amazon Warriors and the Patriots, all on 12 points. The Kings managed to seal the final play-off spot with 10 points from the same number of games. Evin Lewis scored a magnificent 51-ball century against TKR to seal the semi-final spot for the Patriots. He also ended the season as the highest run-getter for his side with 426 runs in 11 games with an average of 47.33.

St. Kitts & Nevis Patriots in the play-offs

The Patriots faced off against the Warriors in the semi-final. Put to bat, the Warriors put up a tough total of 178/9 on board, with Shimron Hetmeyer hitting a 20-ball 45. However, Universe Boss Chris Gayle and Lewis easily chased down the total with 13 balls to spare. Lewis thus remained not-out on 77* off just 39 balls. He hit 8 maximums along with three boundaries, to take his side to the finals, to play the Kings.

Winning the toss, the Warriors had a good start with Rahkeem Cornwall at the top. But the momentum was provided by Keemo Paul in the final part of the innings to reach a total of 159/7. In response, the Patriots lost both their openers early. Joshua Da Silva and Sherfane Rutherford then gave stability in the middle overs. Finally, Dominic Drakes’ whirlwind 48* in 24 balls, took Patriots to their first CPL title on the very last ball of the match. He was also the Man of the Match for the finals.


About author
    Related posts

    T20 World Cup 2021: Match 14, ENG vs WI – Who Said What

    3 Mins read
    England romped home to a net-run-rate boosting six-wicket win against their T20 World Cup 2021 nemesis West Indies in Dubai on October 23…

    IPL 2021 M59: Qualifier 2- Delhi Capitals vs Kolkata Knight Riders, Match Report

    1 Mins read
    The Kolkata Knight Riders reached their third final in IPL history as they defeated the Delhi Capitals by three wickets. The Knights…

    IPL 2021 M57: Qualifier 1- Delhi Capitals vs Chennai Super Kings, Match Report

    2 Mins read
    MS Dhoni and his men pulled off a stunner to march into the finals of IPL 2021 on Sunday. Thus, it is…

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


    Mumbai Indians Can’t Afford Slow Starter Anymore: Gambhir