NewsStoriesWomen's Cricket

The Hundred : ECB Reveals Playing Conditions

2 Mins read

The 100-ball format of the game, The Hundred is going to start from July 21. The England Cricket Board faced several roadblocks and logistical difficulties due to Covid-19. However, they have managed to overcome them as The Hundred is ready for its grand inaugural season. As such, the Board has come up with some tweaked rules and playing conditions for the game.

In this new format, they bid adieu to ‘overs’ and will now stick to counting the balls for the innings progression. Both the players and the TV commentators will follow this new rule and use balls instead of ‘overs’ during the matches. Two sets of five balls will be bowled from the same end and by the same bowler if required. After one set of five balls, the umpire will signal with a white card.

The Hundred Playing Conditions

  • ‘Overs’ shifted to ‘balls’.
  • Umpires will call ‘five’ at the end of a bowler’s set of balls. The umpire will hold up a white card after the set of five.
  • Two sets of ‘five’ will be bowled from one end and even with the same bowler if needed
  • First 25 balls of the innings will be a powerplay.
  • Fielding team can opt to take a two-minute strategic time-out after the initial 25 balls.
  • Both teams will earn a point each in group stage’s tied matches. But in the eliminator and final, they will go to a ‘super five’.
  • Second super five will take place if the first super five ends in a tie. If the second one also finishes in a tie, the team that were at a better place in group stage will win the contest.

The tournament will also feature eight women teams who will play besides the men’s teams. A bunch of local, as well as overseas, star players will represent the teams in the competition. Among the big names in contention are Chris Lynn, Carlos Brathwaite, Colin Munro, Imran Tahir, and Devon Conway.

Indian women cricketers like Smriti Mandhana, Deepti Sharma, Jemimah Rodrigues, and Harmanpreet Kaur will also make their debuts in The Hundred. The four of them have received their NOCs from the BCCI. However, Shafali Verma is yet to receive one so that she can participate in the newly formed format. South African players like Marizanne Kapp, Dane van Niekerk, Chloe Tryon, and Mignon du Preez will also feature in the competition.


About author
    Related posts

    BCCI to approach Anil Kumble for head coach’s role: Reports

    1 Mins read
    The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) is set to approach Anil Kumble for the role of head coach in…

    IPL 2021: Fans allowed with limited seating capacity in UAE

    1 Mins read
    For the first time since the 2019 season, the IPL will see the crowd return to the stadiums. Although in “limited seating”…

    IPL franchises may feel betrayed - Aakash Chopra

    1 Mins read
    Former Indian cricketer Aakash Chopra reckoned that the England cricketers, who pulled out of the second leg of the IPL 2021, could…

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


    IPL 2022: Chopra opens up on four players RCB might retain